McAllister wins the battle and takes home the 2023 Championship

Posted on: September 26th, 2023

Cory McAllister and Two Speed Motorsports are the 2023 Ontario Sportsman Series Champions. The last three races for the Two Speed Team has resulted in three wins, and maximum points in two of the three. McAllister was able to do what he needed to cement his title as the #4 of Connor James struggled in the final race to keep up with the #71. The Arrivederci 100 started with a rough look, as on the initial green, the field checked up and the #3 of Tim Tolton had his fuel cell dragging on the ground, ending the race before it began. On the ensuing start of the race, Rob Fennama, making his series debut, drove straight into the turn four wall trying to catch up. The biggest story of the race day was the #47 driven by Amber Balcaen, of ARCA Menards fame. Amber was able to move her way from 7th to second in the early going of the race. McAllister’s run looked in jeopardy as he suddenly slowed and the top five closed. This was later attributed to a loss of brakes. Cory MCAllister was able to keep going while the battle behind him ensued. 2022 Champion Kevin Trevellin had a rough night made worse when his rear tire flew off due to a parts failure. On the ensuing restart, Amber Balcaens race came to an end, due to a mechanical issue. Several drivers had to take avasive action to avoid contact including Ollie Ferguson and Brad Robinson. Speaking of Ferguson, the 13 year old came into the race as the co-leader of the Brimstone Games Hard Charger, with Chad McGlynn. The young racer of Lindsay, Ontario needed to move up more positions than McGlynn to take the hard charger title. The driver of the #55 Camaro did just that, making positions up on the final restart to take the Hard Charger award. Cory McAllister would remain up front and not be challenged to the line to take the 2023 Ontario Sportsman Series finale, and the title. Chad McGlynn by virtue of finishing second, was able to secure second in the title over Connor James, by one single point. The Special Events Cup ended at Delaware as well, with co-champions, as Chad McGlynn and Cory McAllister finished tied for the title.

The Ontario Sportsman Series officials would like to thank all of our drivers, teams, crew members, tracks, track personnel, partners, and especially our fans for an amazing 2023 season.

This season has happened thanks to our series partners Gulf Race Fuels, Rea Foods Inc.,, & One Stop Auto Centre!