Chad McGlynn Wins Rain Shortened Ontario Sportsman Series Opener

Posted on: May 24th, 2023

For the second straight season, the Ontario Sportsman Series opener was concluded early due to rain. A total of fifty-six of the scheduled 100 were completed, and due to the constant weather, the result was the CASCAR Reunion 100 being called early. The day at Delaware Speedway had already been put in a rush, as officials at the track attempted to get the whole show in before rains came. Practice was run to set the field, and it resulted in the #8 of veteran Chad McGlynn winning the WMI Pole Award. Sophomore competitor in the series Derek McCullough would start second, continuing to show impressive speed for the Glencoe, ON native, competing for St. Thomas’s Payne Brothers Racing. McCullough already achieved a lot in a couple starts in 2022, with a podium and a pole position added to his already impressive racing resume. The race did mark the debut for Southern Ontario Motor Speedway competitor Lora Authier, who made her asphalt debut for 2022 OSS Champion Kevin Trevellin in the #30 Avenger.

The 2023 season would take off with McGlynn & McCullough leading the field into turn one. The field of fourteen had several young racers in the field, including 2019 champion Connor James, Brad Robinson, Michael Hryniuk Jr., and Brendan Patrick. Patrick had come off a fourth place points finish and a solid podium finish at Sunset. The #02 would have a drastically different look in 2023, as the team of Patrick Brothers Racing celebrates its 40th year in racing. The initial start had McGlynn up front, but he was bested for the lead by McCullough until lap 30.

Chad McGlynn would find himself back into the lead on the restart for a caution and despite having a close battle with McCullough and Sean Mangin, the #8 Ford would stay up front. Sean Mangin got the word from his crew that rain was only fifteen minutes away, so he put his foot the floor and passed the #38 of McCullough and set off to battle McGlynn. Mangin was inches away from stealing away the lead before the rains came again and stayed for good. Chad McGlynn would pick up his first win at Delaware since 2021 and would claim the WMI Race Winner Award and SWC Race Winner Clock.

It wasn’t the best day for Two Speed Motorsports at the track. While Cory McAllister’s #71 showed great speed, an unfortunate break in the motor resulted in the team ending their race early, finishing in 14th. The Ontario Sportsman Series heads to Full Throttle Motor Speedway next on June 3rd. In 2022, Tim Tolton & Chad McGlynn were the race winners. We hope you will follow along with us on our Facebook page, or come visit us at the track! You can find more about the Ontario Sportsman Series at our website,! We are always looking for more partners to promote!

See you at Full Throttle Motor Speedway June 3rd!